Humphreys Sunday Brunch Should Take My Advice (Shelter Island, San Diego, CA)

Taste the rainbow.

Taste the rainbow.

Fortunately, Humphreys Sunday Brunch has enough plant based food to permit you to arrange your plates with a rainbow of colors.  However, the restaurant can improve by labeling items “vegan” so you don’t have to keep asking questions.  I already suggested to them that they do so, but they didn’t, so more people should vegan-town this popular after-church brunch until it gets the message.  (I don’t go to church, but I observed church ladies both times I visited, including one with a fan.)

These chips were tough to chew, but the chips were subsequently improved.

These chips were tough to chew, but they were subsequently improved.

Chips improved.

Chips improved.

Here’s what they’ve got that’s purportedly vegan: Steamed veggies, rice, guacamole, chips, breakfast potatoes, salad and vinaigrette, raw veggies, fruit, berries, sorbet.

I gave Humphrey's Sunday Brunch some great advice, then checked back months later to find that they didn't take it.

I gave Humphrey’s Sunday Brunch some great advice, then checked back months later to find that they didn’t take it.

Their pasta isn’t vegan, which is sad.  I never really found out if their bread or bagels were vegan, but a lot of it looks like it should be.  I didn’t ask if the champagne in the bottomless mimosas was vegan.  My research only allowed me to ask the waitresses as many questions as I could while they briefly paused.

One day it's pink, another brown, but the vinaigrette is purportedly vegan.

One day it’s pink, another brown, but the vinaigrette is purportedly vegan.

Paddle-boarder outside the window.

Paddle-boarder outside the window.

Well, I must say I’m really proud of myself for winning these gift certificates.  It was the first time I won on the KSON Christmas Match Game and really fun.  I hope I win more Shelter Island restaurant gift certificates so I can force myself to plan some beach time.  It’s cool.

The dude on the left ate an oyster. Ewwww! He left fruit and mimosa on the table!

The dude on the left ate an oyster. Ewwww! He left fruit and mimosa on the table!

Somebody who put something gross on her plate and realized her mistake, saved it and fed it to the seagulls. I gave them a piece of bread myself.

Somebody who put something gross on her plate and realized her mistake, saved it and fed it to the seagulls. I gave them a piece of bread myself.

You pay the bill like this when you vegan-town.

You pay the bill like this when you vegan-town.

5 thoughts on “Humphreys Sunday Brunch Should Take My Advice (Shelter Island, San Diego, CA)

  1. Haven’t been to San Diego in ages. Used to go to the Reuben E. Lee whenever I was on Shelter Island.

  2. kidrericha says:

    I can’t believe they didn’t heed suggestions from someone who will only eat there when they fall into gift certificates.

    • thrillracer says:

      Well Nick, how would they know which feedback is from customers who paid with a gift certificate vs. a credit card? If they didn’t want feedback they wouldn’t ask for it.

Leave a Reply

