Vegan-Towning Three (3) Del Mar, CA Restaurants

I will write about three (3) Del Mar restaurants in order of most recently visited.

Cucina Enoteca 

burnt brussels sprout + ivan's hot sauce, beet + avocado (radicchio + pine nut + crisp quinoa + sesame), aquazul

Burnt Brussels sprouts + Ivan’s hot sauce, Beet + Avocado salad (radicchio + pine nut + crisp quinoa + sesame), and Aquazul beverage

I’d never heard of Cucina Enoteca before winning a gift certificate, but upon visiting for lunch I saw that it is big and popular (which is weird because the menu isn’t vegan-friendly.)  Luckily I went by myself because a $30 gift certificate only covers one person.  I sat next to the Real Housewives of Del Mar, which was cool because one of them (Robin) asked me about my veggies (beet + avocado salad and Brussels sprouts.)  She ordered the same salad as me, but I couldn’t tell if she also rejected the “feta crema” as I did.  Let’s hope so because only dumb people accept dairy!  The nonalcoholic beverage I chose was the Aquazul (strawberry + mint + lime + ginger + soda), which I didn’t mind at all.  But the bad news: according to the waiter, their bread isn’t vegan.  What total bull!

Wishes in the bathroom of Cucina Enoteca

Wishes in the bathroom of Cucina Enoteca

They also have a retail wine shop. 

 

Del Mar Rendezvous 

Willamina at Del Mar Rendezvous

Willamina at Del Mar Rendezvous

“Modern Chinese Cuisine.” Luckily they have a vegan menu!  Make sure to ask for it special.  I’ve been there twice and prefer the Tofu with Broccoli to Ma Po Tofu (because the former has more veggies in it.)  For a beverage, both times I chose the Choya “Umeshu” (the restaurant calls it “plum wine,” but the manufacturer says the ume fruit is “not plum.”) (Doesn’t say anything about vegan or not.  The Is It Vegan blog already contacted the company to ask and received no response.) (I tried contacting them, but their online contact form does not believe my question is “valid.”)

The fortune cookie (from the Peking Noodle Company) is technically vegan, but not necessarily non-GMO.

Tofu and Broccoli from Del Mar Rendezvous

Tofu and Broccoli from Del Mar Rendezvous

Good news. They let your canine pal dine with you on the patio.  And they validate your parking!  They also have a loyalty program (although, the terms aren’t necessarily clear.)

The “gift card” I won was more like a “trade card” and had more limitations on it than a regular gift card (more confusing to use.)

The Poseidon

Been awhile since I visited, but when I went they had only one totally vegan dinner entree (farro and vegetables) and it had tiny mushrooms in it, so I felt their menu could have been improved! Hopefully it has by now!  The waitress was not my fave either. (“No one can save us from Kim the waitress.”)  If I ever win another gift certificate to the Poseidon, I’ll check it out for lunch instead of dinner.

Another weird thing, Del Mar expects you to feed meters on Sunday evenings! WTF!  I found free street parking, but the lighting was bad.  Tip: keep a good mini-flashlight in your bag!

Interesting Note:

Incompetent Motorist in Del Mar driving this red Mercedes CLS 550, license plate 7GHR391. She tried to crash into my car by attempting a merge without looking. I honked at her and she honked back for daring to honk at her! She turned south on Condesa Dr.

Incompetent Motorist in Del Mar driving this red Mercedes CLS 550, license plate 7GHR391. She tried to crash into my car by attempting a merge without looking. I honked at her and she honked back for daring to honk at her! She turned south on Condesa Dr.

 

 

2 thoughts on “Vegan-Towning Three (3) Del Mar, CA Restaurants

  1. […] (after working a full day of temp labor) did I find out that I could order a vegan pizza.  At the Del Mar restaurant, an exceptionally knowledgeable waitress, Rachel S., explained how to modify a […]

  2. […] City of Del Mar has put up anti-idling signs (Bruce Bekkar, Idling Hurts Oceans, Del Mar Times (Jan. 17, 2014).)  […]

Leave a Reply

