Fun Vegan Fondue at the Melting Pot La Jolla

While there are Melting Pot restaurants all over the nation, they are owned by franchisees, so I am just referring to The Melting Pot La Jolla in this review.

Park underground in the garage of the Hyatt Regency. Once you get inside the hotel, take the elevator up one floor to get out to this area. Validate your parking stub in the restaurant.

Park underground in the garage of the Hyatt Regency. Once you get inside the hotel, take the elevator up one floor to get out to this area. Validate your parking stub in the restaurant.

When I first started hearing giveaways for certificates to The Melting Pot La Jolla on Clear Channel stations, I assumed that cheese would be compulsory at a fondue restaurant, so I did not try to win.  Then I figured that’s silly, so I looked up their menu and saw they have a “Good Earth Vegetarian” entrée.

As long as your order is right and you don’t burn yourself, vegans can have fun fondue experiences at The Melting Pot La Jolla.

Pot of complimentary "Seasoned Court Bouillon" (vegetable broth) before it starts boiling.

Pot of complimentary “Seasoned Court Bouillon” (vegetable broth) before it starts boiling.

You have to request modification of the “Good Earth Vegetarian” entrée because it comes with cheese artichoke ravioli and cheese wild mushroom sacchetti (I wouldn’t go for the mushrooms anyway, of course.)  That’s a shame because vegan ravioli are easy enough to find in stores, and thus, there is no excuse to include cheese in a “vegetarian” entrée as cheese is not a vegetable.  However, you can request extra tofu and other veggies in lieu of the cheese items.  You also get potatoes and edamame and you cook your veggies yourself in a pot of steaming vegetable broth right at your table.   That’s the fun part believe it or not.  Three (3) out of six (6) of their dipping sauces are vegan, but one is wasabi, so I just request the sweet and sour and the teriyaki sauces.

Steam rising from the pot.

Steam rising from the pot.

You can also modify a salad to exclude cheese to make it vegan. I like the candied pecans in the “California.”  Their Raspberry Black Walnut Vinaigrette is dairy-free, but has a lot of ingredients, so hopefully it’s fully vegan.  You can actually read the ingredients on the bottle in the lobby by the front desk.

Vegan version "California" salad and "Blackberry Sage Lemonade" (you can add Bicardi Limon, but it's weak.)

Vegan version “California” salad and “Blackberry Sage Lemonade” (you can add Bicardi Limon, but it’s weak.)

The first time I ate here, I actually did not get enough food.  Why?  Well, my order came out wrong and the server tried to change her story about the vegan friendliness of the cheese items.  I just passed them off to a dumb cheese eater.  I also didn’t get dessert because the server said the dark chocolate sauce wasn’t vegan.

The second time I ate here, even though my entrée came out wrong (this time with mushrooms), the server (Leah) noticed the mistake and took it back to replace the mushrooms with plenty of yummy tofu.  Also, when she later asked if she could bring out more of something, I explained that my buddy took most of the potatoes, so she brought out some more.  Sweet person!  Then she said that all of their chocolate sauces were actually vegan (I wonder about that), so I got a dessert of strawberries, banana, and pineapple to dip in melted dark chocolate sauce.  (Don’t leave the spoon in the pot or you might almost burn yourself like I did.)  So yeah, I was plenty stuffed after eating here the second time.

Well, now you know that vegans can have fun at a fondue restaurant.  Let me know about your vegan fondue experiences, okay?!

"Cheese Aint a Vegetable" is a food campaign I created to raise awareness about the fact that cheese is not a plant based food and thus, should not be called "vegetarian."

“Cheese Aint a Vegetable” is a food campaign I created to raise awareness about the fact that cheese is not a plant based food and thus, should not be called “vegetarian.”

Advertisements

3 thoughts on “Fun Vegan Fondue at the Melting Pot La Jolla

  1. Jen Lynch says:

    None of the chocolate sauces at Melting pot are vegan.. 5 or 6 years ago the dark and white chocolates were, but not anymore.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s